Guilty Pleasures

A fellow blogger, The Reluctant Mom, recently wrote a post about her guilty pleasures. I found it to be an interesting read and thought I would share some of mine with my readers as well. As a mother “guilty pleasures” often take a back burner to the needs of your family and children, and I am certainly no exception. So without further ado:

1.Reading a good book. Now I know some will say, “Why is this a guilty pleasure? Just read the darn book!”…well it becomes a guilty pleasure when your child has woken up from her nap, and you are well aware of her waking, yet you still frantically read the remaining parts of a chapter like a heroin addict looking for one more fix before returning to “being a mother.” My current obsession is Linda Castillo’s murder in Amish country series. I can’t get enough of it! I wait for the release of her latest installment every summer and I just finished reading the sixth book in the series, “The Dead Will Tell“.Dead will Tell

 

2. A glass…or two…or bottle of red wine. I jest…kind of. I am not an alcoholic…but I love my vino. Nothing beats curling up on the couch after a long and stressful day with a 9 oz glass (is there even a smaller amount that can be poured?) of cabernet-shiraz. Yum-O! *Obviously this “guilty pleasure” is on the back burner while I am pregnant because I do not under any circumstances consume alcohol when I am pregnant.*

cameron-diaz-wine

 

3. A good chick flick. Some people do not like chick flicks because they find the plot lines too similar — guy meets girl, they fall in-love, a conflict arises, it is resolved, they realize their love for each other, the credits roll — but I find something comforting in the whole “chick flick” genre. I like the idea of happily-ever-afters and soul mates. My guiltiest pleasure in this genre would have to be the Sex and the City films. I cry every time Miranda and Steve reunite at the end of the first movie to fix their marriage *le sigh*.

4. Pasta. I could eat pasta every day of the week for morning, lunch and dinner…but I don’t because I would rather not be morbidly obese. I succumb to temptation once (or twice!) a week and it is the most delicious part of my week. Also, Fettuccine Alfredo is the best culinary invention in the history of the world…that is all.

buddy-the-elf-maple-syrup-spaghetti

 

5. Painting my toes. Throughout my late teens and early twenties I always had my toe nails painted…in fact if my toe nails were not painted it prompted some people to ask me if I was feeling under the weather. Now painting my toe nails is a guilty pleasure because I feel like I never have time to do so; and usually by the time I get around to re-painting my toes it has been months and the nail polish is nearly completely worn off. When I do get a chance to paint them I prefer bright and bold colours…I fell in love with OPI nail polish names (names like “”La Paz-itively Hot,” ” Atomic Orange,” “Mod-ern Girl,” and “Today I Accomplished Zero”) and never went back to other brands.

 

 

Leave a comment